Moppe goes Chanel

IKEA Moppe Chanel makeover

IKEA Moppe’s not a beautiful piece of furniture but a very good storage gadget. I found one in the garbage room and gave it a haute makeover.

I killed my old leather coat for its skin and used a Chanel handbag as a template.

Chanel handbag as template

I used an old towel as the filling for the “Chanel” quilt.

I cut a piece of cardboard into the size of the front panel of the Moppe and drew the Chanel grid on it as a template.

Then I sewed a piece of leather and the towel together along the grid lines.  Repeat for all 3 panels.

Getting the Chanel grid lines

Chanel strips for IKEA MOPPE front panel

As the inside of the Chanel handbag is red, I painted the insides of the MOPPE red and the exterior black. I needed 3 coats for complete coverage. Let dry.

I measured and inserted eyelets in the right places.

eyelets

For the Chanel logo I used Cernit clay. Shaped and sprayed gold.

Home made Chanel logo

I stuck the leather panels on the MOPPE using a glue gun.

Lastly I added a flat chain into the eyelets.

And the Chanel MOPPE is complete!

IKEA Moppe Chanel makeover

IKEA Moppe chanel makeover

See complete tutorial here.

The post Moppe goes Chanel appeared first on IKEA Hackers.

Leave a Reply

